Wayward Sisters

Is it just me?

A couple of days ago, I saw this in Whitehall Gardens and it stopped me in my tracks:

Picture credit: Britta Benson

I know I read too much into things, or, perhaps closer to the point, I imagine scenes, scenarios, complications, echoes – even when seeing inanimate objects.

Objects?

I wouldn’t class flowers as objects. They are living, breathing organisms. It’s no coincidence that some plants, like the one in my image, have ended up with names like ‘bird of paradise flower’, or ‘cane flower’.

Back to where I started. So, is it just me, or, can you see the wayward sisters, too? I can almost hear the first witch in Shakespeare’s ‘Macbeth’ asking her ‘sisters’:

‘When shall we three meet again? In thunder, lightning, or in rain?’

So, flowers… Hm… or, to quote another Shakespearean hero, Hamlet: ‘there are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.’

I guess, I’ve been to the Globe a few times too many during this visit to London. I managed to cram five Shakespeare plays into one week, and this comes with a few side effects, even when looking at beautiful flowers in a sunlit park. An occupational hazard for any theatre lover, and one I quite like.

Happy Sunday to you all, and I’ll see you here tomorrow, if you wish!

©️2024 Britta Benson. No unauthorized use permitted.

12 thoughts on “Wayward Sisters

  1. haha, I love the disputing sisters aka plants – and am not surprised Shakespeare plays have side effects. In 30 yrs UK I have a total of 1 (one) shakeapare play to report (and it would have been less had I had a seat on the side and could have sneaked out…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Barbara, I’m afraid, I’m quite hooked to iambic pentameter. That’s how I learned English. Drove my teacher in Germany mad! I see Shakespeare’s plays as often as I can. I love the rhythm of the language. It somehow does something to me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started