Just a word

Glückspilz. One of my favourite German words. Literally: luck + mushroom. Lucky mushroom? Mushroom of luck?

In any Glückspilz representation, there’s always the image of a fly agaric mushroom. Famous, enchanting and, please, don’t forget: highly toxic for humans. Whoever eats one of those, will not be so lucky after all.

Still, it’s all about the look, I guess. Iconic. Cute, even. A certified dish. Most attractive. Bright red with dainty decorative white polka dots – what’s not to like. Just don’t eat the fellow. It’s a looker. Special. Home of fairies and all sorts of mythical delights.

So, Glückspilz.

A friend gave me this for my birthday:

Picture credit: Britta Benson

The ribbon is part of a keychain. I love it. I’m all in favour of manifesting. I will see this Glückspilz-message at least twice a day from now on. That’s pretty powerful.

Do I need reminding?

I consider myself lucky anyway. In the grand lottery that is life, I’m a winner. Through no or very little effort. Just luck, really. I have a good life, a great husband, a wonderful family. I’m reasonably healthy-ish, with a few moderate adjustments and the usual expected niggles of someone my age. I don’t own a lot, but most definitely enough. And yes, a good many things annoy me, still, I have plenty of time for the things I love doing. That’s a tremendous priviledge.

I might not need reminding, that I’m a Glückspilz. It can’t do any harm, though, and the keychain is lovely.

Happy Friday to you all, and I’ll see you here tomorrow, if you wish!

©️2024 Britta Benson. No unauthorized use permitted.

9 thoughts on “Just a word

  1. Glückspilz. Wirklich ein schönes Wort. Und das Glück kommt in so vielen Facetten. Besonders die kleinen oder leisen sind die die wir feiern sollten. Ein gutes Leben allen Glückspilzen!

    Glückspilz. Really a nice word. And happiness comes in so many facets. Especially the small or quiet ones are the ones we should celebrate. Happy live to all the Glückspilzen!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Danke, Svenja. The word Glückspilz always makes me smile. Und ich bin froh, dass meine Schlüssel jetzt eine so glückliche Heimat gefunden haben. Hoffentlich verliere oder verlege ich sie jetzt nie mehr.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started