Earth, in a way, I guess

Picture credit: Britta Benson

A something for Rebecca Cuningham’s Earth Day Challenge (you can find out more about it here: https://fakeflamenco.com/2024/04/16/april-earth-day-poetry-challenge-2024/). It’s supposed to be poetry. I’m not sure it is, hence it ended up here. Just a musing. Here goes:

The daisies are back. Joyful little creatures – I can never bring myself to chain them. It seems deeply unfair to pick and pluck hope, which, I believe, should be left where such things choose to thrive.

The dandelions came first, of course, but only by a blink. Another. Hey presto: ripe yolk yellow and it spreads like fever, fire, wild awesomeness rules.

I love my garden weeds. Resilient. Reliant. Reborn without fuss every year, just because. Looks so easy. New life simply resonates with old life, all life, and plenty. I’m in awe. I greet clusters of nonchalant abundance, rain or shine.

You are welcome here. I’m so glad that you came.

Happy Sunday to you all, and I’ll see you here tomorrow, if you wish!

©️2024 Britta Benson. No unauthorized use permitted.

9 thoughts on “Earth, in a way, I guess

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started