Pilgrimage

Picture credit: Britta Benson

Just to shake things up a bit – and because it’s definitely not a poem – here’s my take on Sammi Cox’s Weekend Writing Prompt ‘Prilgrimage’ in 93 words (https://sammiscribbles.wordpress.com/2024/04/27/weekend-writing-prompt-361-pilgrimage/), inspired by a photograph I took of a moss and lichen encrusted iron fence in Glasgow a wee while ago. You all know how much I love moss and lichen, so away we go. Yet another ‘fluffly-lovely’ post, of sorts. My pilgrimage:

I like a long journey condensed into a small, small space. Eyes wander from fluffy-wide spring air to cool, solid iron. You’d think a fence is a fence and that it’ll stop your view once and for all, but you’d be so wrong. Lichen softens the blow. Opens up infinite possibilities for much deeper exploration and perhaps that lofty goal – the centre of the universe – so far away now it can never be reached. All the better for us travellers who enjoy a lengthy pilgrimage just for the sake of moving, traversing beyond.

Happy Saturday to you all, and I’ll see you here tomorrow, if you wish!

©️2024 Britta Benson. No unauthorized use permitted.

7 thoughts on “Pilgrimage

  1. I enjoyed this. I am going to take some time tomorrow and catch up on your pieces! Work has been super worky and doing my best to encourage folk daily on my blog. Life has been really sumpin lately. I love your lichen tales!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started