Dancing Wave

Just a little follow up to a post I wrote in January about a stained glass art project I participated in. You can read all about the workshop here:

So, yesterday, I finally went to the Gallery of Modern Art in Glasgow, to see the ‘Dancing Wave’ exhibition about the city’s longest mural. I’m so glad I did! When I helped cut and prepare the glass pieces for this installation a couple of months ago, I had no idea where in the museum they would end up. I was just in my own blue heaven. I mean, hey, stained glass! Yay! And blue… BLUE! What’s not to like!

Picture credit: Britta Benson.

They have put the glass panels along the upper window ledges in the exhibition room, so that you can follow the dancing wave from one side to the other, while looking straight into the centre of Glasgow. I love it.

The original ‘Dancing Wave’ mural is situated close to the Riverside Museum next to the Clyde. This stained glass miniature version, a little teaser, a taster, and oh, so, nice.

Blue. Dancing imperfections and interesting shades of otherness.

Picture credit: Britta Benson.

Unexpected bonus: I can now say that a few pieces of my work have been exhibited in the GOMA, and this, definitely not something I ever expected to be able to boast about.

The exhibition will be on display until the end of April. I might pop in again. In case I haven’t made this abundantly clear: I like blue. A lot. And this dancing wave will look different depending on the weather and the time of day, just like any other wave, always changing.

Happy Wednesday to you all, and I’ll see you here tomorrow, if you wish!

©️2024 Britta Benson. No unauthorized use permitted.

12 thoughts on “Dancing Wave

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started