Dover, once again

Picture credit: Britta Benson. Dover. Still within the safety of the harbour walls. After that… no more photographs…

Just quickly checking in before heading off again.

I’m on route to Germany, so here comes my traditional image of the port of Dover as I am leaving the last little bit of English coast behind me. I can’t get enough of this view. Always different, always familiar, always interesting.

Also, always promising… The grass may not always be greener on the other side, but there are a few things in France and Germany I am looking forward to eating. And yes, I start thinking about continental food, as soon as that ferry sets off.

So, this time, it’s been a bit of a rough crossing thanks to ‘vents violents’. I prefer the French way to the slightly disappointing English ‘strong winds’. ‘Violent winds’ seems to express the concept, and the experience, far better.

The ferry required a tugboat in order to get out of the harbour walls safely. Took me a little while to adjust to the weather conditions. Also took me a while to ‘find’ my sea legs, but the views were spectacular. A Channel crossing can be quite boring on a calm day. Well, we got our money’s worth of full on entertainment. I did not go on deck, though, through the worst of it. I value my life. I simply enjoyed the drama from a safe seat inside.

We stayed overnight in a small place close to Dunkerque and went for a meal. Ah, France! Always tastes so good. And of course we will stop in a boulangerie this morning for delicious essentials to brighten up our onward journey. Fortified by French pastries, we shall make our way to Germany.

Happy Friday to you all, and I’ll see you here tomorrow, if you wish!

©️2024 Britta Benson. No unauthorized use permitted.

18 thoughts on “Dover, once again

  1. I hope your ‘vents violents’ didn’t result in a six hour crossing from Dover to – Boulogne in our case. No going on deck that time, You’d have to have picked your way through all the smashed cutlery in the dining areas. Enjoy your continental Easter – and the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started