Battered

Regular readers of my blog know, that I am in awe of ‘common as muck’. No, not an insult. I love things and creatures we all take for granted and I spend a lot of time looking at them from all sorts of angles.

When I do post about nature, you will – in all likelihood (and never say never) – not find a lion here. I’m more a snails and frogs kind of writer. So, true to form, here’s another inhabitant of my tiny garden.

Picture credit: Britta Benson

I love this one. Look at the shell. This gastropod has most certainly had a few adventures! I wish I could ask a few questions. Well, I guess, I can ask questions, but, alas, my understanding of snail, still far too limited.

The older I get, the prouder I become of my signs of adventure. Marks, blemishes, scars and yes, also wrinkles. The lot. I am a rather clumsy, inquisitive person (perhaps not the greatest of combinations), so I do have my fair share of ‘reminders’. I also have a very expressive face. My total scrunch up, legendary. And when I laugh, the back of my head knows it too.

I don’t mind bearing witness of what my life has been like. It’s been mostly great and interesting. I can see that in all the no longer pristine bits of me. I’ve done stuff. I am planning on doing a whole lot more.

Happy Friday to you all, and I’ll see you here tomorrow, if you wish!

©️2024 Britta Benson. No unauthorized use permitted.

12 thoughts on “Battered

Comments are closed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started